logo
Challenges in the implementation of GDPR
25. January 2018

The debate on data protection and the new European General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) is currently hot. Every week a new data leak is detected. And let's be honest: this is only the tip of the iceberg. Such cases are the reason for the legislator, to overreact and setting very strict directives.

 

From a business point of view, it is particularly painful that the GDPR prescribes the deletion of data. This is especially the case today when data is seen as the new gold, a core element of the new legislation that is completely at odds with technical and economic developments. However, this cannot be stopped.
We at andrion ag, therefore, rely on a simple, target-oriented and pragmatic approach in order to comply with the law with few resources. Common sense and specific knowledge allow us to quickly develop suitable concepts that can be implemented promptly. In addition, we have developed a compliance strategy with which GDPR conformity can be achieved in stages.

 

Data is not an end in itself
Improved data protection is important and urgently needed. From a business perspective, it is essential to understand what personal data and other business information is necessary to achieve these goals. One must also consider which personal data is still required after the conclusion of a business transaction. After all, most processes that take place after a transaction has been concluded - i.e. "mining gold" from existing data - are usually independent of personal data. Or if so, then only by individuals such as age, gender, place of residence, etc. Such personal data, which is necessary for the further success of the company, must be kept and protected!


And this is exactly where we in andrion are bothered by the current demand to simply delete all personal data. Because more than 95% of the applications are meaningful and useful services and not data collectors per se. So, our approach is clearly focused on retaining all business-critical data and taking measures to protect it.


The first thing to bear in mind is that there are over 10,000 people with the name Zimmermann in the public Swiss telephone directory. There are still 232 of them with the first name Martin. My name alone is neither identifying nor worth protecting. Only in combination with various other attributes can an unambiguous assignment take place. But even my name including the address is not worth protecting. It is already in the public phone book.

 

Only when sensitive data is linked to the identified persons does it become tricky. Be it ethnic or health data, religious or criminal data. Or simply pictures and likes on social media platforms that reveal something about my preferences. This combination is dangerous from a privacy point of view and is becoming more and more strictly regulated.

 

Data is not just data

By looking at the topic from another perspective, things change a lot: If one has extensive business data without person-identifying characteristics, they can still be used to generate turnover-bringing business purposes, without violating however the data security. And this is exactly where we as andrion come into play. We strongly advise our customers against simply giving IT the order to delete the data, because then all data is irrevocably lost. And we also advise them to obtain legal advice, but not to rely solely on it. Because lawyers primarily implement what they believe they read in the GDPR and are sometimes too cautious in case of doubt.


Rather, we work together with the client to analyse his current data inventory and derive his potential future data requirements from it. Because in most cases the core business is not the evaluation of personal data (profiling), but these are not relevant and can be deleted as soon as the order has been processed. Therefore, we recommend our customers to keep the business data including the absolutely necessary personal data, but to delete the remaining, not necessarily personal data. The perspective on these data can be very different from industry to industry and company to company with regard to their possible business use. If, for example, a construction company wants to make evaluations of orders per region, the postal code is very important and must be kept.

 

Ensure control over data

This analysis of business data is not a one-off activity but should be a recurring activity that ensures that you have control over all available data at all times. Should" must become "want", because only then has the organization understood what data protection is.


Working with our customers, therefore, leads to an increased awareness of all kinds of data in the company. Through our work, the customer understands in detail what data are really required to achieve the goals. This leads to the fact that the handling of data becomes more and more a matter of course and the sensitivity for their protection grows into the DNA of the company.

 

The strategic approach pays off

For data analysis, we also follow our own andrion compliance strategy. The core is a staggered approach, weighted according to the important requirements of the GDPR. This Compliance Strategy also allows us to react quickly if initial court hearings indicate unexpectedly sharp implementation. Through our projects, we are in constant contact with various European data protection authorities and specialist lawyers, so that we can "test" and improve our compliance strategy on an ongoing basis.

 

Consistent implementation of this strategy will quickly result in very high compliance with the GDPR. The core of the GDPR is to understand which personal data is collected and processed for which purpose and to obtain the customer's consent for data processing. This consent arises indirectly through the conclusion of a contract, e.g. the sale of goods, or through the active obtaining of consent, e.g. using cookies on web pages. The call centre business or any form of social media are most likely to be at risk; on the other hand, current business practices are already quite well protected against the sometimes draconian penalties provided for by the new GDPR with our strategy and the measures derived from it.

 

What brings me to my final point is that if a lawsuit is filed, a plaintiff will be required. And the plaintiff can only sue for damage that has arisen. Since it can be assumed that this damage is usually rather deep, the number of possible court cases is drastically reduced. The fine itself is imposed and collected by the state. However, the state has no interest in damaging its economy. As a result, fines of up to 4% of global turnover may only be imposed for repeated, very grossly negligent or even intentional fault. This is not a free pass to ignore data protection and the new GDPR, but rather a concrete call to manage your data actively, consistently and pragmatically.

GDPR
GDPR
icon_loader

logo
«Denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun» im Zeitalter der DSGVO
25 Januar 2018

Die Debatte über den Datenschutz und die neue europäische Datenschutz-Grundverordnung (DSGVO) läuft derzeit heiss. Jede Woche kommt ein neues Datenleck ans Licht. Und seien wir ehrlich: Das ist nur die Spitze des Eisbergs. Solche Fälle sind mit der Grund, dass der Gesetzgeber, wie – leider oft – überreagiert und eine sehr strenge Richtlinie in Kraft setzt.

 

Aus Sicht des Business tut vor allem weh, dass die DSGVO das Löschen von Daten vorschreibt. Dies gerade heute, wo Daten als das neue Gold verstanden werden. Damit steht ein Kernelement der neuen Gesetzgebung völlig quer zur technischen und wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung. Diese lässt sich aber nicht aufhalten.

 

Wir von der andrion ag setzen daher auf ein einfaches, zielführendes und pragmatisches Vorgehen, um mit wenig Mitteln gesetzeskonform zu werden. Gesunder Menschenverstand und spezifisches Wissen erlauben uns, rasch geeignete Konzepte zu entwickeln, welche sich auch zeitnah umsetzen lassen. Zudem haben wir eine Compliance-Strategie entwickelt, mit welcher eine DSGVO-Konformität gestaffelt erreicht werden kann.

 

Daten sind nicht Selbstzweck

Ein verbesserter Datenschutz ist wichtig und dringend notwendig. Aus Business-Sicht ist es dabei essentiell zu verstehen, welche personenbezogenen Daten und welche sonstigen Geschäftsdaten zum Erreichen der Ziele nötig sind. Auch muss man sich überlegen, welche personenbezogenen Daten nach Abschluss eines Geschäfts noch benötigt werden. Denn die meisten Prozesse, die nach Abschluss eines Geschäfts erfolgen – eben aus vorhandenen Daten «Gold zu schürfen» – , sind meist unabhängig von personenbezogenen Daten. Oder wenn, dann nur von einzelnen wie Alter, Geschlecht, Wohnort etc. Solche für den weiterreichenden Erfolg der Firma zwingend erforderlichen personenbezogenen Daten gilt es unbedingt zu behalten und zu schützen!

 

Und genau hier stört uns in der andrion die aktuelle Forderung, einfach alle personenbezogenen Daten zu löschen. Denn mehr als 95% der Anwendungen sind sinnvolle und nutzenstiftende Services und keine Datensammler per se. Also ist unser Ansatz ganz klar darauf fokussiert, alle geschäftskritischen Daten zu behalten und Massnahmen zu treffen, diese zu schützen.

 

Zu bedenken ist zunächst: Es gibt im öffentlichen Schweizer Telefonbuch über 10’000 Personen mit dem Namen Zimmermann. Immer noch 232 davon tragen den Vornamen Martin. Mein Name allein ist weder identifizierend noch schützenswert. Erst in Kombination mit verschiedenen anderen Attributen kann eine eindeutige Zuordnung stattfinden. Aber selbst mein Name inklusive Adresse ist nicht wirklich schützenswert. Er steht ja bereits im öffentlichen Telefonbuch.

 

Erst wenn sensible Daten zur identifizierten Personen verknüpft werden, wird es heikel. Seien dies ethnische oder gesundheitliche Daten, religiöse oder strafrechtliche. Oder einfach nur Bilder und Likes auf Social-Media-Plattformen, die etwas über meine Vorlieben verraten. Diese Kombination ist aus Sicht des Datenschutzes gefährlich und wird immer strikter reguliert.

 

Daten sind nicht gleich Daten

Kehren wir die Betrachtung um, so verändert sich vieles: Hat man umfangreiche Geschäftsdaten ohne personenidentifizierende Merkmale, so kann man mit diesen immer noch die nutzen- und umsatzbringenden Businesszwecke erfüllen, ohne aber den Datenschutz zu verletzen. Und genau hier setzen wir von der andrion an. Wir raten unseren Kunden dringend davon ab, einfach der IT den Auftrag zur Datenlöschung zu geben, denn dann sind alle Daten unwiderruflich verloren. Und wir raten ihnen auch, zwar Rechtsberatung einzuholen, aber sich nicht allein darauf abzustützen. Denn Juristen setzen in erster Linie um, was sie in der DSGVO zu lesen glauben, und sind im Zweifelsfall zu übervorsichtig.

 

Vielmehr analysieren wir gemeinsam mit dem Kunden seinen heutigen Datenbestand und leiten daraus seinen potentziell künftigen Bedarf an Daten ab. Denn zumeist ist das Kerngeschäft nicht das Auswerten von personenbezogenen Daten (Profiling), sondern diese sind «Beigemüse» und können, sobald der Auftrag verarbeitet wurde, gelöscht werden. Also empfehlen wir unseren Kunden, die Businessdaten inklusive der zwingend notwendigen personenbezogenen Daten zu behalten, jedoch die übrigen, nicht benötigten personenbezogenen Daten zu löschen. Die Perspektive auf diese Daten kann dabei von Branche zu Branche und Firma zu Firma im Hinblick auf deren möglichen Businessnutzen sehr unterschiedlich sein. Will zum Beispiel eine Baufirma Auswertungen zu Aufträgen pro Region machen, so ist die Postleitzahl sehr wichtig und muss behalten werden.

 

Kontrolle über die Daten sicherstellen

Dieses Analysieren von Geschäftsdaten ist keine einmalige Tätigkeit, sondern sollte eine wiederkehrende Aktivität sein, welche sicherstellt, dass man jederzeit die Kontrolle über die gesamten verfügbaren Daten hat. Aus «Sollen» muss quasi «Wollen» werden, denn nur dann hat die Organisation verstanden, was Datenschutz ist.

 

Die Arbeit mit unseren Kunden führt folglich dazu, dass das Bewusstsein über alle Arten von Daten in der Firma zunimmt. Der Kunde versteht durch unsere Arbeit im Detail, welche Daten er zur Erreichung seiner Ziele wirklich benötigt. Dies führt dazu, dass der Umgang mit Daten mehr und mehr zur Selbstverständlichkeit wird und die Sensibilität für deren Schutz in die DNA der Firma hineinwächst.

 

Strategischer Ansatz zahlt sich aus

Bei der Datenanalyse gehen wir zudem nach einer andrion-eigenen Compliance-Strategie vor. Im Kern steht ein gestaffeltes Vorgehen, gewichtet nach den wirklich wichtigen Forderungen der DSGVO. Diese Compliance-Strategie erlaubt uns auch, rasch zu reagieren, sollten erste Gerichtsverhandlungen auf eine unerwartet scharfe Umsetzung hindeuten. Über unsere Projekte sind wir ständig mit diversen europäischen Datenschutzbehörden und spezialisierten Juristen in Kontakt, so dass wir unsere Compliance-Strategie auch laufend «testen» und verbessern können.

 

Bei konsequenter Umsetzung dieser Strategie ergibt sich rasch eine sehr hohe Konformität zur DSGVO. Denn im Kern der DSGVO geht es darum zu verstehen, welche personenbezogenen Daten zu welchem Zweck gesammelt und verarbeitet werden, und für die Datenverarbeitung die Zustimmung des Kunden einzuholen. Diese Zustimmung entsteht indirekt durch den Abschluss eines Vertrages, z. B. den Verkauf von Gütern, oder aber durch das aktive Einholen einer Zustimmung, z. B. bei der Verwendung von Cookies auf Web-Seiten. Am ehesten sind wohl das Call-Center-Business oder jegliche Form von Social Media gefährdet; gängige Geschäftspraktiken sind hingegen mit unserer Strategie und den daraus abgeleiteten Massnahmen bereits recht gut geschützt vor den teils drakonischen Strafen, die die neue DSGVO vorsieht.

 

Was mich zum letzten Punkt bringt: Sollte es zu einer Klage kommen, so braucht es dazu einen Kläger. Und dieser kann nur einen entstandenen Schaden einklagen. Da anzunehmen ist, dass dieser Schaden meist eher tief ist, reduziert sich die Anzahl möglicher Gerichtsfällen drastisch. Die Busse selbst wird vom Staat verhängt und eingezogen. Der Staat hat jedoch definitiv kein Interesse daran, seine Wirtschaft zu schädigen. Strafen im Umfang von bis zu 4% des weltweiten Umsatzes dürften demzufolge nur nach mehrmaligem, sehr grobfahrlässigen oder gar absichtlichen Verschulden ausgesprochen werden. Das ist kein Freipass, den Datenschutz und die neue DSGVO zu ignorieren, sondern vielmehr der konkrete Aufruf, seine Daten aktiv, konsequent, aber auch pragmatisch zu bewirtschaften.

DSGVO, Datenschutz, GDPR
"Denn sie wissen nicht, was sie tun"
icon_loader